City Lights Bookstore is Now Open

Every Day, from 12–8pm

Please note that everyone must wear a face mask covering both nose and mouth
at all times while in the bookstore.

We've got hand sanitizer and social-distancing measures in place,
including a new Entrance for one-way traffic.

We hope you'll come by to see us—we are SO excited to welcome everyone back!!

And, join us from home at our Virtual Events Series, CITY LIGHTS LIVE!

THANK YOU to all the protesters! 
Stay Strong and Be Safe, beautiful people.

***

Human creativity is integral to revolutionary resistance — the urgent plea, the silenced cry, the righteous rage. It is imperative that we educate and illuminate ourselves to deepen our commitment to justice and equity for Black people and all people of color, and to pave the way for radical systemic change. 

 

Here is an Antiracist reading list intended to inform and inspire, curated by our booksellers at City Lights.

 

 

New at City Lights Bookstore

Product image
CASTE ' ORIGINS OF OUR DISCONTENTS
In this brilliant book, Isabel Wilkerson gives us a masterful portrait of an unseen phenomenon in America as she explores, through an immersive, deeply researched narrative and stories about real people, how America today and throughout its history has been shaped by a hidden caste system, a rigid hierarchy of human rankings.

Product image
LOVE AFTER LOVE
recommended by Paul

Product image
MEMORIAL DRIVE ' DAUGHTER'S MEMOIR
At age nineteen, Natasha Trethewey had her world turned upside down when her former stepfather shot and killed her mother. Grieving and still new to adulthood, she confronted the twin pulls of life and death in the aftermath of unimaginable trauma and now explores the way this experience lastingly shaped the artist she became.

Product image
Sansei & Sensibility
Stories
Karen Tei Yamashita
In these buoyant and inventive stories, Karen Tei Yamashita transfers classic tales across boundaries and questions what an inheritance--familial, cultural, emotional, artistic--really means.

Product image
The Complete Works of Alberto Caerio
Bilingual Edition
Fernando Pessoa
A bilingual companion to The Book of Disquiet. Here, in Margaret Jull Costa and Patricio Ferrari's splendid new translations, are the complete poems of Alberto Caeiro, the imaginary "heteronym" coterie created by Fernando Pessoa, the Portuguese modernist master...

Product image
Must I Go
A Novel
Yiyun Li
The story of a woman reflecting on her uncompromising life, and the life of a former lover, in this provocative novel.

Product image
Twilight of Democracy
The Seductive Lure of Authoritarianism
Anne Applebaum
A Pulitzer Prize-winning historian explains, with electrifying clarity, why elites in democracies around the world are turning toward nationalism and authoritarianism.

Product image
Prison by Any Other Name
The Harmful Consequences of Popular Reforms
Victoria Law, Maya Schenwar
A crucial indictment of widely embraced "alternatives to incarceration" that exposes how many of these new approaches actually widen the net of punishment and surveillance.

Product image
Who Killed Berta Cáceres?
Dams, Death Squads, and an Indigenous Defender's Battle for the Planet
Nina Lakhani
A deeply affecting-and infuriating-portrait of the life and death of a courageous indigenous leader in Honduras.

Product image
KAFKA IN A SKIRT
Stories From The Wall
Deeply rooted in Chicano culture as expressed through a modern Latinx view, these stories will make you laugh at what's not funny and recognize the unfamiliarity of our evolving culture in the modern details of this 21st century vida loca of ours. ---Josiah

Product image
Natural History
A Novel
Carlos Fonseca
From Carlos Fonseca comes a dazzling, kaleidoscopic epic of art, politics, and hidden realities.

Product image
SON OF GOOD FORTUNE
The Son of Good Fortune is a novel about a mother, Maxima, and her son, Excel, who are undocumented Filipino immigrants living in California. They each do their best to make money, blend in, and not get caught by the authorities. But what they do is not what you might expect.

Product image
A Burning
A Novel
Megha Majumdar
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

Product image
Tokyo Ueno Station
A Novel
Miri Yu
A surreal, devastating story of a homeless ghost who haunts one of Tokyo's busiest train stations.

   

New and Forthcoming from City Lights Publishers

Product image
ReTargeting Iran
David Barsamian
A timely primer on the conflict between the United States and Iran by scholars of Middle Eastern politics who advocate diplomacy and de-escalation.

Product image
Natch
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 20
Sophia Dahlin
Queer pastoral lyrics take on the romantic sublime in a stunningly assured debut collection.

Product image
Facing You
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 19
Uche Nduka
From acclaimed Nigeria-born, Brooklyn-based poet Uche Nduka, a book of love poems written with compact elegance and vivid eroticism.

Product image
We the Resistance
Documenting a History of Nonviolent Protest in the United States
Michael G. Long
A first-person history of nonviolent resistance in the U.S., from pre-Revolutionary America to the Trump years.

Product image
Eat the Mouth That Feeds You
Carribean Fragoza
In gritty, sometimes fantastical stories about Latinx life, women challenge feminine stereotypes and make sense of fractured family histories.

Product image
Have Black Lives Ever Mattered?
Mumia Abu-Jamal
"A must-read for anyone interested in social justice and inequalities, social movements, the criminal justice system, and African American history. An excellent companion to Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow and Ava DuVernay's documentary '13th'."—Library Journal, Starred Review

Product image
No Fascist USA!
The John Brown Anti-Klan Committee and Lessons for Today's Movements
Hilary Moore, James Tracy
"Smash fascism! Read this book!"––Tom Morello, songwriter and guitarist with Rage Against the Machine

Product image
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, Written by Himself
A New Critical Edition by Angela Y. Davis
Frederick Douglass, Angela Y. Davis
A new edition of the African American masterpiece featuring critical essays by Angela Y. Davis

Product image
The Green New Deal and Beyond
Ending the Climate Emergency While We Still Can
Stan Cox
Honoring the 50th anniversary of Earth Day, a clear and urgent call for the national, social, and individual changes required to prevent catastrophic climate change.

Product image
Every Day We Get More Illegal
Juan Felipe Herrera
A State of the Union from the nation's first Latino Poet Laureate. Trenchant, compassionate, and filled with hope.

Product image
A Short History of Presidential Election Crises
(And How to Prevent the Next One)
Alan Hirsch
Will Trump try to delay the November election? Does the Constitution prevent him from doing so? We present an urgent primer on what can be done to combat emerging threats to the core of U.S. Democracy––presidential elections.

Product image
Under the Dome
Walks with Paul Celan
Jean Daive
An arresting memoir of the final years and tragic suicide of one of twentieth-century Europe's greatest poets, published on the centenary of his birth.

Product image
Little Hill
Alli Warren
Despite the dystopian now, Alli Warren finds promise in the smallest human instances of tenderness, ecological connection, and political solidarity. Little Hill is about learning to live and love in the 21st century while not shying away from all there is to struggle against.

Product image
Funeral Diva
Pamela Sneed
A poetic memoir about coming-of-age in the AIDS era, and its effects on life and art. "She is a writer for the future, in that she defies genre."—Hilton Als

Product image
Forgotten Journey
Silvina Ocampo
Delicately crafted, intensely visual, deeply personal stories explore the nature of memory, family ties, and the difficult imbalances of love.

Product image
ELADATL
A History of the East Los Angeles Dirigible Air Transport Lines
Sesshu Foster
A breathtaking free fall into the long-buried (and fictional) history of a utopian era in American lighter-than-air travel, as told by its death-defying, aero-acrobatic heroes.