Details

ISBN-10: 164286076X
ISBN-13: 9781642860764
Publisher: World Editions
Publish Date: 03/02/2021
Dimensions: 8.40" L, 5.40" W, 1.00" H

The High-Rise Diver

Translator: Sharmila Cohen

Paperback

Price: $16.99

Overview

For readers of The Handmaid’s Tale, The Circle, and Brave New World comes a chilling and distressingly plausible dystopia which creates a world in which performance is everything and one woman’s failure to achieve becomes another’s downfall.

Riva is a “high-rise diver,” a top athlete with millions of fans, and a perfectly functioning human on all levels. Suddenly she rebels, breaking her contract and refusing to train. Cameras are everywhere in her world, but she doesn’t know her every move is being watched by Hitomi, the psychologist tasked with reining Riva back in. Unquestionably loyal to the system, Hitomi’s own life is at stake: should she fail to deliver, she will be banned to the “peripheries,” the filthy outskirts of society. For readers of The Handmaid’s Tale, The Circle, and Brave New World, this chilling dystopia constructs a world uncomfortably close to our own, in which performance is everything.

Author

Read More
Reviews

"A searing work of speculative fiction." Kirkus Reviews

"The High-Rise Diver is chillingly beautiful dissection of perfected capitalism. Lucadou creates a horribly convincing world where every aspect of existence has been monetised. In a taut, delicate narrative an implacable and disinterested cruelty faces the human ache for tenderness, mercy, contact and affection." –A.L. Kennedy

"Straightforward and cool, the author's short, unadorned sentences reveal how the promise of salvation through greater efficiency, growth, and individual luck actually represses, stifles, and destroys the very essence of life: spontaneity, pain, dirt, emotion, poetry." Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

"A glistening novel about the blockade of welfare that is closing in on the entire world." –Clemens Setz, author of Indigo

"What makes Julia von Lucadou's novel so impressive is the accuracy with which she describes this high-gloss, modern, but by no means completely fictional world. Every detail is so precise that, lurking beneath the flawlessness of the text, the central theme of perfidious self-optimization seems to always be present." Süddeutsche Zeitung

"Julia von Lucadou's science fiction is close. Against the backdrop of the gleaming images used to portray this Orwellian-style city-state, the tragic moments of direct human encounters take on a dimension of clever criticism." Spiegel Online

"The author's precision in depicting the process of decay, later marked by delusional episodes, is the explosive force behind this text. It meticulously states the consequences of a society governed by totalitarian control and optimization. Welcome to neo-liberalism 4.0!" Berliner Zeitung

"In literary and discursive terms, the most exciting debut of the autumn season." Kulturnews

"With clear analysis and precision, Julia von Lucadou describes the merciless surveillance of the world of big data." Inforadio

"The High-Rise Diver is a highly intelligent, prescient, and entertaining novel about our brave new world of voluntary surveillance. An outstanding debut!" WDR

More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 164286076X
ISBN-13: 9781642860764
Publisher: World Editions
Publish Date: 03/02/2021
Dimensions: 8.40" L, 5.40" W, 1.00" H
Skip to content