Details

ISBN-10: 1782277412
ISBN-13: 9781782277415
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Publish Date: 07/05/2022
Dimensions: 7.60" L, 5.00" W, 1.10" H

Death on Gokumon Island

Translator: Louise Heal Kawai

Paperback

Price: $15.95

Overview

A fiendish, classic locked room murder mystery, from one of Japan’s greatest crime writers, that’s perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware

“An exceptional whodunit… The brilliant and intricate plot will keep readers turning the pages.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Seishi Yokomizo took a pinch of John Dickson Carr and a dash of Agatha Christie in creating Kosuke Kindaichi, solver of impossible crimes… Kosuke’s arrival [on Gokumon Island] coincides with a string of bizarre and gruesome murders. As deaths mount, the quirky, endearing detective strings together the clues to solve this fiendish puzzle.” — Sarah Weinman, New York Times

Detective Kosuke Kindaichi arrives on the remote Gokumon Island bearing tragic news–his friend and fellow soldier, the son of one of the island’s most important families has died, on a troop transport ship bringing him back home after the Second World War. But Kindaichi has not come merely as a messenger–with his last words, the dying man warned that his three step-sisters’ lives would now be in danger. The scruffy detective is determined to get to the bottom of this mysterious prophesy, and to protect the three women if he can.

As Kindaichi attempts to unravel the island’s secrets, a series of gruesome murders begins. He investigates, but soon finds himself in mortal danger from both the unknown killer and the clannish locals, who resent this outsider meddling in their affairs.

Loosely inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, the sensational second outing of Japan’s most famous detective is perhaps the most highly regarded of all the great Seishi Yokomizo’s classic Japanese mysteries.

Read More

Details

ISBN-10: 1782277412
ISBN-13: 9781782277415
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Publish Date: 07/05/2022
Dimensions: 7.60" L, 5.00" W, 1.10" H
Skip to content