Details

ISBN-10: 1982159472
ISBN-13: 9781982159474
Publisher: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster
Publish Date: 10/05/2021
Dimensions: 8.30" L, 5.50" W, 0.70" H

Infinite Country

Paperback

Price: $17.00

Overview

A REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK and INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WINNER OF THE 2021 NEW AMERICAN VOICES AWARD, LONGLISTED FOR THE 2022 ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL, AND A NATIONAL ENDOWMENT OF THE ARTS “BIG READS” SELECTION

“A profound, beautiful novel.” —People * “Poignant.” —BuzzFeed * “A breathtaking story of the unimaginable prices paid for a better life.” —Esquire

This “heartbreaking portrait of a family dealing with the realities of migration and separation” (Time) is “a sweeping love story and tragic drama [and] an authentic vision of what the American Dream looks like in a nationalistic country” (Elle).

I often wonder if we are living the wrong life in the wrong country.

Talia is being held at a correctional facility for adolescent girls in the forested mountains of Colombia after committing an impulsive act of violence that may or may not have been warranted. She urgently needs to get out and get back home to Bogotá, where her father and a plane ticket to the United States are waiting for her. If she misses her flight, she might also miss her chance to finally be reunited with her family.

How this family came to occupy two different countries, two different worlds, comes into focus like twists of a kaleidoscope. We see Talia’s parents, Mauro and Elena, fall in love in a market stall as teenagers against a backdrop of civil war and social unrest. We see them leave Bogotá with their firstborn, Karina, in pursuit of safety and opportunity in the United States on a temporary visa, and we see the births of two more children, Nando and Talia, on American soil. We witness the decisions and indecisions that lead to Mauro’s deportation and the family’s splintering–the costs they’ve all been living with ever since.

Award-winning, internationally acclaimed author Patricia Engel, herself a dual citizen and the daughter of Colombian immigrants, gives voice to all five family members as they navigate the particulars of their respective circumstances. Rich with Bogotá urban life, steeped in Andean myth, and tense with the daily reality of the undocumented in America, Infinite Country “is as much an all-American story as it is a global one” (Booklist, starred review).

Read More
Reviews
"An exceptionally powerful and illuminating story about a Colombian family torn apart by war and migration." –Reese Witherspoon

"Engel movingly captures the shadow lives of undocumented migrants... a profound, beautiful novel."People Magazine

"[Engel is] a gifted storyteller whose writing shines even in the darkest corners." The Washington Post

"The prose is serpentine and exciting... [with] intimate and meticulously rendered descriptions of Andean landscapes and mythology, of Colombia's long history of violence... a compulsively readable novel." New York Times Book Review

"Patricia Engel is a wonder; her novels are marvels of exquisite control and profound and delicately evoked feeling. Infinite Country knocked me out with its elegant and lucid deconstruction of yearning, family, belonging, and sacrifice. This is a book that speaks into the present moment with an oracle's devastating coolness and clarity." –Lauren Groff, author of Florida and Fates and Furies

"A diamond-sharp novel... With stunning sentences, vivid language, and a pace that will leave you breathless, Infinite Country is steeped in myth and rich in both depth and beauty. There's a not a single word misplaced in this book. –The Today Show

"Engel's sweeping novel gives voice to three generations of a Colombian family torn apart by man-made borders... Gorgeously woven through with Andean myths and the bitter realities of undocumented life, Infinite Country tells a breathtaking story of the unimaginable prices paid for a better life." Esquire

"At once a sweeping love story and tragic drama, Infinite Country... promises to deliver what American Dirt could not: an authentic vision of what the American Dream looks like in a nationalistic country." Elle

"A gorgeous, moving novel." New York Post

"Engel's pacing is breathless–she covers three generations in under 200 pages–but just as frequently gives way to heart- and time-stopping moments. Infinite Country is poised to be one of the most stirring page-turners of the year." A.V. Club

"Clear, moving, and perfectly calibrated, Infinite Country follows the members of one mixed-immigration status family as they navigate dreams, distance, and the bonds of love and memory. Patricia Engel is a stunning writer with astonishing talents." –Lisa Ko, author of The Leavers

"I've admired Engel's writing a long time, and her new book deepened that admiration. An exquisitely told story of family, war, and migration, this is a novel our increasingly divided country wants and needs to read." –R.O. Kwon, Electric Literature "Books by Women of Color in 2021"

"Engel's vital story of a divided Colombian family is a book we need to read... The rare immigrant chronicle that is as long on hope as it is on heartbreak." –*starred* Kirkus Reviews

"Engel's gaze is intensely intimate but never voyeuristic, and her prose, while sparse and digestible, is full of poignant observations... Perfect for readers of Isabel Allende and Valeria Luiselli, this book offers readers from all walks of life a searingly timely perspective on the challenges faced by those in pursuit of a dream." Book Reporter

More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 1982159472
ISBN-13: 9781982159474
Publisher: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster
Publish Date: 10/05/2021
Dimensions: 8.30" L, 5.50" W, 0.70" H
Skip to content