Details

ISBN-10: 1640093028
ISBN-13: 9781640093027
Publisher: Counterpoint LLC
Publish Date: 11/09/2021
Dimensions: 9.10" L, 6.20" W, 1.20" H

The Perishing

Hardcover

Price: $26.00

In stock

Overview

A Black immortal in 1930’s Los Angeles must recover the memory of her past in order to discover who she truly is in this extraordinarily affecting novel for readers of N. K. Jemisin and Octavia E. Butler. Lou, a young Black woman, wakes up in an alley in 1930s Los Angeles with no memory of […]

A Black immortal in 1930’s Los Angeles must recover the memory of her past in order to discover who she truly is in this extraordinarily affecting novel for readers of N. K. Jemisin and Octavia E. Butler.

Lou, a young Black woman, wakes up in an alley in 1930s Los Angeles with no memory of how she got there or where she’s from. Taken in by a caring foster family, Lou dedicates herself to her education while trying to put her mysterious origins behind her. She’ll go on to become the first Black female journalist at the Los Angeles Times, but Lou’s extraordinary life is about to take an even more remarkable turn. When she befriends a firefighter at a downtown boxing gym, Lou is shocked to realize that though she has no memory of meeting him, she’s been drawing his face for years.

Increasingly certain that their paths previously crossed–and beset by unexplainable flashes from different eras haunting her dreams–Lou begins to believe she may be an immortal sent here for a very important reason, one that only others like her can explain. Setting out to investigate the mystery of her existence, Lou must make sense of the jumble of lifetimes calling to her, just as new forces threaten the existence of those around her.

Immersed in the rich historical tapestry of Los Angeles–Prohibition, the creation of Route 66, and the collapse of the St. Francis Dam–The Perishing is a stunning examination of love and justice through the eyes of one miraculous woman whose fate seems linked to the city she comes to call home.

Author

Read More
Reviews
"Pick this one up and I promise . . . you will not be able to put it down" –Shay Mitchell, Book of the Month

Vivid and thrilling. –Annabel Gutterman, TIME

The salient beauty of The Perishing is that [it] grapple[s] with what it is like to be inside bodies in extremis, on the edge of risk. Deón attend[s] to the body as a locus of power or its absence: how bodies relate to objects in space, how they feel, how they are given voice–or not–within a place. –Anita Fellicelli, Alta

The Perishing . . . plays like its own genre–lyrical strangeness. –Christopher Borelli, Chicago Tribune

Natashia Deón's critically acclaimed debut novel, Grace, ushered in a brand-new literary talent whose fans have been waiting five long years to see what she would do next. It's clear within the first few pages of her new novel, The Perishing, that the wait has been well worth it . . . The Perishing is a downright masterpiece. Welcome to the world of literary stardom, Natashia Deón. –Scott Neumyer, Shondaland

The Perishing is a startling, luminous love letter to Los Angeles and one of the best books of 2021. –Adam Morgan, The A.V. Club

History repeats itself on a personal level in this time-travel novel from Natashia Deón . . . The book is a fascinating and thrilling mystery, but for Deón, it's also a commentary on the frustrating cycles of injustice that have yet to crack. –Rosa Cartagena, Bitch

Astonishing. –Sabienna Bowman, Popsugar

An intoxicating blend of sci-fi and historical fiction, The Perishing is a unique perspective on Depression-era life for a Black woman, time traveler or not. –Kirby Beaton, BuzzFeed

This marriage of period lit and science fiction will plug the Lovecraft Country sized hole in your heart. –Keyaira Boone, Essence

Haunting and beautiful. –Danielle Broadway, Black Girl Nerds

The Perishing is full of language that is accomplishing multiple feats at once. One of which is being able to capture the visceral and emotional backdrop of a moment that translates throughout the book . . . As Lou learns more about how to exist in her body, and the many bodies of the lives that follow, she establishes a voice that, like Deón's, is too powerful to ever be forgotten. –Aaron Coats, Chicago Review of Books

A dark, gritty and slow-burning mystery . . . Deón's writing is beautiful, with a rat-a-tat quality, like brutal poetry mixed with fierce prose. –Carole V. Bell, BookPage

Who are we, if not the sum of our experiences? If the body keeps score, how is history written on our flesh? Natashia Deón's time-bending novel, The Perishing, artfully considers these questions and more . . . Deón's cultural observations are as sharp and arresting as her use of descriptive language. Physical places, like people, have character, distinct features that speak to the life (or lack thereof) within . . . The Perishing is not a novel that's largely preoccupied with the physical mechanics of time travel. Instead, time travel is a device used to examine philosophical questions that are embedded in mankind's search for meaning. –Vanessa Willoughby, Literary Hub

Tantalizing, intoxicating, and fantastical . . . Déon creates a haunting and atmospheric tale of immortality and mystery grounded in Black history and tradition. –Booklist (starred review)

This isn't a book. It's a touchstone. It's an oracle. It's a mirror in which you will see your authentic self, reflected on the pages. The Perishing is one part lyrical mystery, one part history lesson you didn't learn in school, one part time machine. It's a lush, genre-smashing, philosophical experience of a novel that blew my mind even as it broke my heart. –Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

"Remarkable, strange, and richly inventive, Natashia Deón's The Perishing will keep you up all night and haunt you long afterward. Deón's newest novel is a wonder and a feat." –R.O. Kwon, author of The Incendiaries

More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 1640093028
ISBN-13: 9781640093027
Publisher: Counterpoint LLC
Publish Date: 11/09/2021
Dimensions: 9.10" L, 6.20" W, 1.20" H
Skip to content