Details

ISBN-10: 0062229222
ISBN-13: 9780062229229
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publish Date: 10/13/2020
Dimensions: 8.00" L, 5.25" W, 0.88" H

Butterfly Yellow

Paperback

Price: $10.99

Overview

Winner of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction! Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sánchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. 4 starred reviews!

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms–and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country.

Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn’t know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her.

Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn’t remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

Author

Read More
Reviews
★ "Lại writes with charm and spark, and she is especially original in her conveyance of Hằng's limited English. Hằng remains resilient and purposeful, characteristics that make her compelling and even heroic. Ultimately, this is a bittersweet yet hopeful story of letting go and finding new ways to come together."–Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)
More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 0062229222
ISBN-13: 9780062229229
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publish Date: 10/13/2020
Dimensions: 8.00" L, 5.25" W, 0.88" H
Skip to content