Details

ISBN-10: 0060834269
ISBN-13: 9780060834265
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Publish Date: 06/27/2006
Dimensions: 7.96" L, 6.06" W, 0.64" H

Everybody Into the Pool: True Tales

Paperback

Price: $14.95

Overview

Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America’s deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents’ Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in Brokeley with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies’ luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco’s foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool.

Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick’s scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she’s exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.

Author

Read More
Reviews
"The tales veer from razor sharp to hilarious. A"–Entertainment Weekly (Editor's Choice)
More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 0060834269
ISBN-13: 9780060834265
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Publish Date: 06/27/2006
Dimensions: 7.96" L, 6.06" W, 0.64" H
Skip to content