Details

ISBN-10: 1982134410
ISBN-13: 9781982134419
Publisher: Atria Books
Publish Date: 01/05/2021
Dimensions: 9.10" L, 6.00" W, 1.20" H

White Feminism: From the Suffragettes to Influencers and Who They Leave Behind

Hardcover

Price: $27.00

Out of stock

Overview

Written “with passion and insight about the knotted history of racism within women’s movements and feminist culture” (Rebecca Traister, New York Times bestselling author), this whip-smart, timely, and impassioned call for change is perfect for fans of Good and Mad and Hood Feminism.

Addressing today’s conversation about race, empowerment, and inclusion in America, Koa Beck, writer and former editor-in-chief of Jezebel, boldly examines the history of feminism, from the true mission of the suffragists to the rise of corporate feminism with clear-eyed scrutiny and meticulous detail. She also examines overlooked communities–including Native American, Muslim, transgender, and more–and their ongoing struggles for social change.

With “intellectually smart and emotionally intelligent” (Patrisse Cullors, New York Times bestselling author and Black Lives Matter cofounder) writing, Beck meticulously documents how elitism and racial prejudice have driven the narrative of feminist discourse. Blending pop culture, primary historical research, and first-hand storytelling, she shows us how we have shut women out of the movement, and what we can do to correct our course for a new generation.

Combining a scholar’s understanding with hard data and razor-sharp cultural commentary, White Feminism “is a rousing blueprint for a more inclusive ‘new era of feminism'” (The Boston Globe).

Author

Read More
Reviews
"Koa Beck writes with passion and insight about the knotted history of racism within women's movements and feminist culture, past and present. Curious, rigorous, and ultimately generous, White Feminism is a pleasure and an education."–Rebecca Traister, New York Times bestselling author of Good and Mad
More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 1982134410
ISBN-13: 9781982134419
Publisher: Atria Books
Publish Date: 01/05/2021
Dimensions: 9.10" L, 6.00" W, 1.20" H
Skip to content