Details

ISBN-10: 1982102578
ISBN-13: 9781982102579
Publisher: Scribner Book Company
Publish Date: 04/12/2022
Dimensions: 8.10" L, 5.70" W, 1.30" H

Things They Lost

Hardcover

Price: $26.99

Overview

This astonishing, devastating debut novel, riven through with mystery and magic, tells the story of a lonely girl living in a small African town and her struggle to free herself from her mercurial, charming mother.

Ayosa is a wandering spirit–joyous, exuberant, filled to the brim with longing. Her only companions in her grandmother’s crumbling house are as lonely as Ayosa herself: the ghostly Fatumas, whose eyes are the size of bay windows, who teach her to dance and wail at the death news; the Jolly-Annas, cruel birds who cover their solitude with spiteful laughter; the milkman, who never greets Ayosa and whose milk tastes of mud; and Sindano, the kind owner of a café no one ever visits.

Unexpectedly, miraculously, one day Ayosa finds a friend. Yet she is always fixed on her beautiful mama, Nabumbo Promise: a mysterious and aloof photographer, she comes and goes as she pleases, with no apology or warning. Set at the intersection of the spirit world and the human one, Things They Lost is a stunning and unforgettable novel that unfurls the dizzying dualities of love, at its most intoxicating and all-encompassing.

Author

Read More
Reviews
"From the start, Oduor – a winner of the Caine Prize for African Writing, among other honors – broadcasts her tremendous talents ... Come for the beguiling narrative, and stay for the rich, evocative language."
Vulture, Most Anticipated of 2022

"An extraordinary tale about love, longing, and the bond between mothers and daughters."
Vogue, 25 Books by Black Authors We Can't Wait to Read in 2022

"Oduor renders this fantastical world so tangibly it almost leaps off the page–a feat aided by her stunning language ... this novel is lively and original; it is a captivating journey from start to finish. A joy to read."
Kirkus, STARRED review

"There are a small cadre of authors who redefine literary genres, writing freely without barriers. First-time novelist Oduor joins this exclusive literary club ... a riveting story about love, friendship, and belonging, transporting the reader to a whimsical yet heartbreaking world. This tale of mystery and longing is reminiscent of works by Ngugi wa Thiong'o and perfect for fans of Akwaeke Emezi."
Booklist

"A haunting bond between mother and daughter is examined in Oduor's ambitious debut ... Oduor makes loss and familial disappointment palpable through her potent and visceral prose. This keeps the reader holding their breath."
Publishers Weekly

More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 1982102578
ISBN-13: 9781982102579
Publisher: Scribner Book Company
Publish Date: 04/12/2022
Dimensions: 8.10" L, 5.70" W, 1.30" H
Skip to content