Details

ISBN-10: 0062875809
ISBN-13: 9780062875808
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publish Date: 04/27/2021
Dimensions: 7.50" L, 5.10" W, 0.70" H

The Dragon Egg Princess

Paperback

Price: $9.99

Overview

Perfect for fans of Wing & Claw, this must-have middle grade novel is from We Need Diverse Books cofounder Ellen Oh!

“Filled with strange terrains, creatures, and magic, this is an enthralling read!”–Soman Chainani, author of the New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil series

“A rich and wonderfully imagined story about the many ways young people can be powerful and the tremendous benefits of awakening your inner dragon.” –Annie Ursu, National Book Award for Young People’s Literature nominee for The Real Boy

“By drawing inspiration from Korean lore and culture, Ellen Oh is helping to reinvigorate the fantasy genre. Readers will love The Dragon Egg Princess for its humor, inventive magic, and thrilling action!” –Linda Sue Park, Newbery Medalist and New York Times bestselling author

In a kingdom filled with magic, Jiho Park and his family are an anomaly–magic doesn’t affect them.

Jiho comes from a long line of forest rangers who protect the Kidahara–an ancient and mysterious wood that is home to powerful supernatural creatures. But Jiho wants nothing to do with the dangerous forest.

Five years ago, his father walked into the Kidahara and disappeared. Just like the young Princess Koko, the only daughter of the kingdom’s royal family. Jiho knows better than anyone else the horrors that live deep in the magical forest and how those who go in never come back.

Now the forest is in danger from foreign forces that want to destroy it, and a long-forgotten evil that’s been lurking deep in the Kidahara for centuries finally begins to awaken. Can a magic-less boy, a fierce bandit leader, and a lost princess join forces and save their worlds before it’s too late?

Massachusetts Children’s Book Award Nominee

Author

Read More
Reviews

"Filled with strange terrains, creatures, and magic, this is an enthralling read!"Soman Chainani, author of the New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil series

A rich and wonderfully imagined story about the many ways young people can be powerful and the tremendous benefits of awakening your inner dragon. – Annie Ursu, National Book Award for Young People's Literature nominee for The Real Boy

"By drawing inspiration from Korean lore and culture, Ellen Oh is helping to reinvigorate the fantasy genre. Readers will love The Dragon Egg Princess for its humor, inventive magic, and thrilling action!" – Linda Sue Park, Newbery Medalist and New York Times bestselling author

With its quick pace, modern heroes, and choreographed action, this is a strong fantasy title with K-pop undertones. – Kirkus Reviews

Plenty of twists and turns to keep you racing through the pages. – Shannon Messenger, New York Times bestselling author

"This enjoyable read should appeal to fantasy fans." – Publishers Weekly

Readers will love The Dragon Egg Princess for its humor, inventive magic, and thrilling action! – Linda Sue Park, Newbery Medalist and New York Times bestselling author

"This is a fast-paced and readable standalone fantasy that quickly grows to epic proportions...and readers may appreciate the fantastical take on environmental stewardship."
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 0062875809
ISBN-13: 9780062875808
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publish Date: 04/27/2021
Dimensions: 7.50" L, 5.10" W, 0.70" H
Skip to content