Details

ISBN-10: 1782272712
ISBN-13: 9781782272717
Publisher: Pushkin Press
Publish Date: 12/05/2017
Dimensions: 7.70" L, 5.00" W, 0.80" H

Record of a Night Too Brief

Translator: Lucy North

Paperback

Price: $13.95

Overview

The Akutagawa Prize-winning stories from one of the most highly regarded and provocative contemporary Japanese writers: part of our Japanese novella series, showcasing the best contemporary Japanese writing.

In these three haunting and lyrical stories, three young women experience unsettling loss and romance.

In a dreamlike adventure, one woman travels through an apparently unending night with a porcelain girlfriend, mist-monsters and villainous monkeys; a sister mourns her invisible brother whom only she can still see, while the rest of her family welcome his would-be wife into their home; and an accident with a snake leads a shop girl to discover the snake-families everyone else seems to be concealing.

Sensual, yearning, and filled with the tricks of memory and grief, Record of a Night Too Brief is an atmospheric trio of unforgettable tales.

Read More
Reviews
A supersurreal triad of stories. . . Kawakami marks the literary map of Japan with a warning that beyond here lie dragons–or snakes and ghosts, at any rate. Astonishing, strange, and wonderful. – Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Fans of Haruki Murakami and Banana Yoshimoto will enjoy immersing themselves in Kawakami's magical worlds. – Booklist

the author successfully juxtaposes elements of contemporary Japan – in Kawakami's case, postmodern Japan, with its high-rise apartment buildings, highway service areas, radio stock market reports, and advertising jingles blaring from parade-float loudspeakers – with myths and folklore that gesture toward a lost, pre-modern imaginary. –Los Angeles Review of Books

Talking animals, transformations into trees and horses, and a melancholic mood of loss and love make it easy to see why Kawakami is one of the more exciting voices in contemporary Japanese literature. – Thrillist

A truly fantastical story...rewards with rich imagery that will challenge anyone's powers of imagination. – Japan Society Journal (UK)

At once funny and humane. . . the author's estranging fiction is bewitching. If Japan were in need of a Lewis Carroll, look no further. – South China Morning Post

Baffling, unsettling and haunting, these stories have a dreamlike atmosphere. – The Lady (UK Magazine)

A truly fantastical story... rewards with rich imagery that will challenge anyone's powers of imagination. – Japan Society Magazine

More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 1782272712
ISBN-13: 9781782272717
Publisher: Pushkin Press
Publish Date: 12/05/2017
Dimensions: 7.70" L, 5.00" W, 0.80" H
Skip to content