Details

ISBN-10: 0143133950
ISBN-13: 9780143133957
Publisher: Penguin Group
Publish Date: 05/12/2020
Dimensions: 7.70" L, 5.10" W, 0.80" H

Black Shack Alley

Translator: Keith Q Warner
Introduction by: Keith Q Warner
Foreword by: Patrick Chamoiseau
Translator: Charly Verstraet
Translator: Jeffrey Landon Allen

Paperback

Price: $17.00

Overview

The semiautobiographical Caribbean novel that explores shifting race relations in early twentieth-century colonial Martinique, with a foreword by Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau

A Penguin Classic

Following in the tradition of Richard Wright’s Black Boy, Joseph Zobel’s semiautobiographical 1950 novel Black Shack Alley chronicles the coming-of-age of José, a young boy grappling with issues of power and identity in colonial Martinique. As José transitions from childhood to young adulthood and from rural plantations to urban Fort-de-France on a quest for upward mobility, he bears witness to and struggles against the various manifestations of white supremacy, both subtle and overt, that will alter the course of his life. His ally in this struggle is his grandmother, M’man Tine, who fights her own weariness to release at least one child from the plantation village, a dirt street lined with the shacks of sugarcane workers. Zobel’s masterpiece, the basis for the award-winning film Sugar Cane Alley directed by Euzhan Palcy, is a powerful testament to twentieth-century life in Martinique, with a foreword by award-winning Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau.

Author

Read More
Reviews
Zobel relays José's pain and frustration in measured, matter-of-fact prose. This perfectly captures the education of an outsider in the shadow of colonization.
–Publishers Weekly
More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 0143133950
ISBN-13: 9780143133957
Publisher: Penguin Group
Publish Date: 05/12/2020
Dimensions: 7.70" L, 5.10" W, 0.80" H
Skip to content