Details

ISBN-10: 0684868768
ISBN-13: 9780684868769
Publisher: Scribner Book Company
Publish Date: 09/10/2002
Dimensions: 8.37" L, 5.59" W, 0.73" H

Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software

Paperback

Price: $17.00

Overview

In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a “cultural critic with a poet’s heart” (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications.A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOKA VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENT TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEARAN ESQUIRE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization, and adaptive learning. How does a lively neighborhood evolve out of a disconnected group of shopkeepers, bartenders, and real estate developers? How does a media event take on a life of its own? How will new software programs create an intelligent World Wide Web? In the coming years, the power of self-organization — coupled with the connective technology of the Internet — will usher in a revolution every bit as significant as the introduction of electricity. Provocative and engaging, Emergence puts you on the front lines of this exciting upheaval in science and thought.

Read More
Reviews
Michiko Kakutani The New York Times Book Review Johnson once again demonstrates his range as a cultural historian....stimulating reading.
More Reviews

Details

ISBN-10: 0684868768
ISBN-13: 9780684868769
Publisher: Scribner Book Company
Publish Date: 09/10/2002
Dimensions: 8.37" L, 5.59" W, 0.73" H
Skip to content